Navaratri is the Hindu festival of worship and dance. In Sanskrit, the term literally means “nine nights”.

During this festival, the forms of Shakti are worshiped. Literally “nine nights”, this nine-day period from the new moon day to the ninth day of Ashvin is considered the most auspicious time of the Hindu calendar and is hence the most celebrated time of the year.

Although it has different names in different parts of India, Hindus from all regions celebrate it. From Kashmir in the North to Tamil Nadu in the South, and from Gujarat in the West to Sikkim in the East, it is celebrated with great enthusiasm as the conquest of good over evil.

Every region has its own myths and reasons to explain this. The nine different aspects of Devi are worshiped over the nine days.

These are the most popular forms under which she is worshipped:

  • Goddess Durga goddess beyond reach
  • Goddess Kali the auspicious power of time
  • Goddess Amba or Goddess Jagdamba mother of the world
  • Goddess Annapurna giver of food and plenty
  • Goddess Sarvamangala auspicious goddess
  • Goddess Bhairavi terrible, fearful, power of death
  • Goddess Chandika or Goddess Chandi violent, wrathful, furious
  • Goddess Lalita playful
  • Goddess Bhavani giver of existence
  • Goddess Tara giver of success in work